Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Notes


Note for:   William Henry Harrison Carpenter,   10 JUL 1833 - 5 FEB 1911         Index
Burial:   
     Place:   Confidence Cemetery in Wright Twp., Wayne Co., IA, South Section, Row 6

Note:    Biographical and Historical Records of Wayne and Appanoose Counties, page 427:

W. H. Carpenter, an enterprising farmer and stock-raiser, of Wright Township, residing on section 12, was born in Tuscarawas County, Ohio, July 10, 1833, a son of William and Mary (Stuart) Carpenter, being natives of Ohio, the father born in Tuscarawas County. They had nine children born to them, as follows- John, James, Andew, William, George, Edward, Mary, Elizabeth and Catherine. W. H. was the fourth son of the family. He spent his youth on his father's farm, receiving his education in the common schools of his native county, where he lived till fifteen years of age. In 1848 he went with his father to Holmes County, Ohio, where he lived nine years. He then spent seven years in McDonough County, Illinios, and in 1865 came to Wayne County, Iowa, locating on his present farm in Wright Township in the fall of 1866. He was married August 22, 1857 to Celestia Jane Hueston of Harrison County, Ohio a daughter of Leonard and Celestia Hueston. They have thirteen children - James S., Louise R., J.W. Amanda, Alice, Andrew, Grandville, Sarah, Orlow, Jessie Lee, Frank, Edward. One daughter, Wealthy is deceased. Mrs. Carpenter died Feb. 24, 1885, and January 6, 1886. Mr Carpenter married for his second wife Clarinda Davis, of Schuyler County, Illinois. Mr Carpenter is successfully engaged in raising and feeding stock. He has brought his farm, which contains 259 acres, from a wild, unimproved tract of land, under excellent cultivation. His residence is comfortable and commodious, and his farm buildings are among the best in his neighborhood. His large barn, which was erected in 1885, is 32 x 40 feet in size with good stone foundation. This fine property has been acquired by his own efforts he having commenced life on his own account in limited circumstances.

In the Confidence Cemetery in Wright Twp., Wayne Co., IA, South Section, Row 6
Plot #6.22 William H. Carpenter, July 10, 1833 - Feb 5, 1911
Plot #6.23 Clarenda Carpenter, Aug. 11, 1934 - Oct 18, 1918
Plot #6.24 James S. Carpenter, Apr 30, 1894, 35 yr, 10 mo, 14 da
Plot #6.21 Weltha J. Carpenter, July 22, 1865 - Aug 9, 1866
Plot # 6.20 Calista J. Carpenter, June 23, 1836 - Feb 24, 1885

Notes


Note for:   Clarinda Jane Husted Davis,   11 AUG 1834 - 27 OCT 1918         Index
Burial:   
     Place:   Confidence Cemetery in Wright Twp., Wayne Co., IA, South Section, Row 6



Notes


Note for:   Edward Carpenter,   27 SEP 1761 - 12 JUL 1827         Index
Burial:   
     Place:   Londonberry Cemetary

Note:    From "Stories of Guernsey County Ohio"
"Londonderry Township page 875
"Carpenter's Trail: In 1801 Edward Carpenter took a government contract to cut out a road from Stillwater creek, through what is now Guernsey County to Salt Fork creek, seven miles northeast of the Wills creek crossing (Cambridge). For this work he received $300, or less then twenty dollars a mile. Improvements on this same section of road a few years ago (1942) cost more than $20,000 a mile. But a century of progress lay between Carpenter's trail and the William Penn highway. Between 1803 and 1805 Zaccheus Biggs extended the road to the Wills creek crossing connecting it with Zane's Trace. Biggs and Zacceus A. Beatty had just laid out the town of Cadiz and had purchased the land upon which Cambridge was afterwards platted. As there was already a road from Cadiz to Steubenville, one returning from New Orleans by way of the Wilderness Road and Zane's Trace could leave the latter at Wills creek crossing and reach Pittsburgh by a nearer route than through Wheeling. By 1811 Carpenter's trail had become a good wagon road. It was long known as the Steubenville road."
"Carpenter Moves to Londonderry: While cutting the trail Edward Carpenter noticed a good location for a home on a ridge in what was then Belmont county but now Londerry township. Guernsey county, withstanding the fact that the place was in the midst of a unbroken forest far from any white settlement, he entered 160 acres, brought his family there and erected a cabin. The cabin was built of round logs with the bark which was covered with a clapboard roof weighted with poles, and the floor with puncheon timber. The first night they occupied the cabin the snow blew in through the cracks and covered the bed to a depth of two inches. A year or so later they built an addition to their home and opened a tavern. Edward Carpenter lived on this farm until his death which occurred in 1827.
"The Carpenter family is large and widely scattered. John Carpenter was the father of seventeen children, there being two sets of twins and one set of triplets: Edward Sr. was the father of fourteen there being one set of twins; and W.A. was the father of eight, there being one set of twins."
"The First Crop of Wheat: Having cleared two acres of land, Edward Carpenter, Sr. sowed the first wheat in Londonderry township. When it had ripened the next summer he cut it with a sickle and threshed some of it with a flail. To remove the chaff from the grain he poured the wheat from one vessel to another while two men kept the air in motion by flapping a sheet.
Bread made from wheat hitherto unknown in the Carpenter home. Some of the children tasted it: their only bread had been made of corn. It is needless to say that the family eagerly awaited the return of two boys who took some of the wheat to have it ground at the mill ten or fifteen miles away. The boys brough the flour home and the mother began making biscuits for supper - great quanitity of them. Noting in the bread line had ever tasted so good to the Carpenters. But before all had been served the first to eat complained of feeling sick, and soon all were ill. The flour had been made from what the pioneers called "sick wheat", caused by a poisonous red mite in the end of the grain. Even the stock to which the wheat was fed became sick. The crop was a total loss.
For another year the Carpenter family ate corn bread, mush and hominy. The white breast of wild turkeys which were plentiful served as a substitue for white bread. The next year a crop of wheat on the same ground proved to be free of the disease."

GUERNSEY COUNTY OHIO - ROADS AND RAILROADS
***********************************************************************
OHGENWEB NOTICE: All distribution rights to this electronic data are
reserved by the submitter. Reproduction or re-presentation of copyrighted
material will require the permission of the copyright owner. The submitter
has given permission to the USGenWeb Archives to store the file permanently
for free access. http://www.rootsweb.com/~usgenweb/oh/
***********************************************************************
File contributed for use in USGenWeb Archives by
MMacmurph@@aol.com
February 19, 2000
***********************************************************************

Stories of Guernsey County Ohio, by William Wolfe 1943
Pg 196-197
Chapter: Roads and Railroads
Section: The Steubenville Road
Some of the roads leading out of Cambridge have been known by the names of
the places that they reach; as, Coshocton road, Newcomerstown road, and
Steubenville road. The one named last is better known to modern travelers as
Route No. 22, or the William Penn highway, but to many people in Guernsey
county it will always be the Steubenville road.

This road held a place second only to Zane's Trace as a way for travel in the
early days of the county. Settlers came into this section by both routes.
Building the Road -- The path through the forest, that afterwards became the
Steubenville road, was cut in 1801, four years later than Zane's Trace.
However, it was not extended as far as Cambridge until sometime between 1803
and 1805. It was opened as a good wagon road through to Steubenville in 1811.
Edward Carpenter was the pathfinder. For the sum of three hundred dollars he
agreed to cut a trail from Big Stillwater creek in what is now Harrison
county to a point within seven miles of Cambridge. Having completed the
work, he moved to Londonderry township, becoming its first settler. The
seven miles leading from the end of the Carpenter contract to Cambridge was
completed by Zaccheus Biggs.

Used much in Early Days.-- As a pioneer route of travel the Steubenville road
was better than Zane's Trace. It was an open path through the forest, while
the latter was but little more than a blazed trail. When Zane's Trace had
been made into a fairly good route of travel it was called the Wheeling road.
That name was dropped upon the completion of the National Road. Likewise,
Carpenter's open trail the Steubenville road, and later a part of the
William Penn highway.
Entering the northeastern corner of Guernsey county from Harrison county, the
Steubenville road follows a southwestern course to Cambridge, a distance of
twenty-two miles. The villages platted on it were Londonderry (1815), Antrim
(1830) Winchester (1836) and Centreville (1842). As it was a shorter route
to Pittsburgh than was the old Wheeling road, it was used much in the early
part of the last century. Cattle, sheep and hogs were driven over it.
Footmen, horseback riders and emigrant wagons were constantly traveling the
road.
Taverns on the road-- Taverns were opened for the accommodation of the
travelers. The proprietors were required to procure licenses, which were
issued by the court at a cost of from five to eight dollars. The rates
varied in accordance with the location. In each tavern was a bar where
liquors were sold. The selling was legal if the tavern keeper held a license.

At the first court session held in Guernsey county in 1810, licenses to keep
taverns on the Steubenville road were granted to Edward Carpenter, Joseph
Dean, and Robert Wilkin. At the same session Robert Wilkin was found guilty
of selling whisky without a license and was fined six and one-fourth cents
and costs. Joseph Dean neglected to renew his license three years later and
was fined five dollars.



-------------OH-FOOTSTEPS MAILING LIST-----------------------