Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Notes


Note for:   Marie Merlet Mellott,   11 NOV 1646 - WFT Est. 1647-1740         Index
[Brøderbund WFT Vol. 4, Ed. 1, Tree #2531, Date of Import: Oct 10, 1999]

Died before 1662.

Notes


Note for:   Eseschias Merlet Mellott,   26 JUL 1648 - WFT Est. 1648-1749         Index
[Brøderbund WFT Vol. 4, Ed. 1, Tree #2531, Date of Import: Oct 10, 1999]

Died before 1662.

Notes


Note for:   Paulus Marlet Merlet,   14 SEP 1653 - WFT Est. 1685-1744         Index
[Brøderbund WFT Vol. 4, Ed. 1, Tree #2531, Date of Import: Oct 10, 1999]

Chr.: 14 Sept 1653 Huguenot Church Mannheim, Germany. Lived in Flatbush, NY
located on Staten Island in 1681, later moved ot the lower part of Canada
where he died. Children: Janetja, Yaneken.


Paulus, m. Lysbeth Bunwyck, and appears to have settled on S. I. Jan 19, 1678, he and Francis Vesselton, Hans Lawrens, Danl Stillwell, Ed. Marshall and Peter Jansen were arrested by the constable of S.I. and imprisioned for abductiona a servant-girl of Christopher Billop, and dischared from prison on bail on the 24th inst, as per p. 64 of Cal. of Eng. Man. Issue:--Jannetje, bp. May 18, 1679 in Flh.

Notes


Note for:   Abraham Marlatt Merlott,   6 JAN 1655/56 - 6 JUN 1714         Index
[Brøderbund WFT Vol. 4, Ed. 1, Tree #2531, Date of Import: Oct 10, 1999]

Chr.: 3 Feb 1656 Huguenot Church Mannheim, Germany. Many of the children
of Abraham & Christance stayed in the NJ area, but some eventually moved.
Children: Margaret b:31 Mar 1678, Jennetje b:18 May 1679, Abraham b:16 May
1680, John b:1682.


MARLETT or MERLETT FAMILY
French Prot., from London, where they were members of Old THREADNEEDLE CHURCH, alongside MONNET, PILLOT, et al., (HUG. SOC., London, Vols. XIII and XVI; vide, ante, this PART, p. 573). The name was also MELLET, Marley and Morley.
The first Amer. Anc. was GIDEON MERLET, in Col. N. Y., petition, Mar. 19, 1663, (CALEND. N. Y. HIST., Pt. I, p. 245; vide, ante, PART TWO, p. 153). This contains familiar Staten Island names. In 1674, GIDEON MARLET was magistrate on S. I., (CALEND., supra, p. 17), and in other references, land at Fresh Kill, 1694, "formerly owned by GIDEON, JOSHUA and PAUL MARLET," while JOHN PETER MELOTT appears by 1700, (pp. 242, 278-9).

The latter was the son of ABRAHAM MARLETT, First Settler of Pisc., who had m. CHRISTINE PIETERSE, (vide, ante, PART ONE, p. 124; KINGS, p. 200). (Study, also, pp. 223, 224 and 104.)

ABRAHAM MARLETT had chil. when on Long Island, MARGARET, b.p., Mar. 31, 1678, in Flatbush; JANNETJE, b.p., May 18, 1679 in Flatbush, and ABRAHAM, b.p., May 16, 1680, in New Utrecht; "rem. to settle upon the Raritan, in N. J.", and had a son, DIRCK (Richard), b.p. there, Oct. 27, 1708. His brother was PAULUS MARLETT, wife LYZBETH BRUNSWYCK, prom. citizen of S. I., (vide, ante, PART ONE, pp. 121-125).

Notes


Note for:   Pierre Billeau,   1625 - 6 JAN 1706/07         Index
Family was originally Walloon's (celtic people who lived in the southern Belgim) they had to leave the province and went to Leyden, Holland where Pierre married Franoise Du Bois on 20 April 1649.

Spent 2 years in Bastille because a Huguenot then to England; mar. 20 (or 6) April 1649 in Waloon Church, Leyden to Francoise DuBois b. 1632 Rhiems (dau of Chretien DuBois of Wicres, France);
sailed on St. John Baptiste from Walslant, Netherlands on 9 May 1661; name on ship register Pieter Bielliou. He mar 2nd Gerritje Spiegelaer, widow, of Flatbush. Applied for land on Staten Island 22 August 1661. Built home 1661 now located at 1467 Richmond Road - "Perine House". He d. 6 Jan 1707?? and
she d. 20 Apr 1649. Source of some of this 1960 Van Name paper & Vol 3, Stillwell Genealogy NYState Lib.

Had 4(according to ship list) or 5 kids before leaving Europe in 1661 after Louis XIV came to power...he left with or without his father? On May 9, 1661 on the De St. Jan Baptiste, commanded by Capt. Jan Bergen, for the Dutch Colonial city of New Amsterdam (Now NYC)


Built a house on Stanton Island in 1662 that still stands today, it is a part of the Stanton Island Historical Society
**************************************************************************
Source; "BILYEU Blood Lines" Newsletter Volume 1 Issue 1 January 1993 published by Family Publications, Rose CAUDLE TERRY.

From the book "PRE-REVOLUTIONARY DUTCH HOUSES" by Rosalie FELLOWS BAILEY, Pages 149-151:

House of Capt. Thomas STILLWELL, later BRITTON's and PERINE's
1476 Richmond Road, Dongan Hills Plate 36

In 1661 Pierre BILLEAU (father-in-law) of the builder of this house), a Walloon, and others petitioned to be allowed to live on Staten Island. Their petition was granted and the first permanent settlement was made at Old Dorp, the site now occupied by St. Mary's Cemetery inland from Arrochar. A survey of the property in New Lots of the Old Town (later Garretsons and now Dongan Hills) was made April 4, 1685 for Capt. Thomas STILLWELL under order of Gov. Thomas DONGAN: 15 acres of land in the
New Lots at the Old Town in the County of Richmond, a part of which was formerly granted to Peter BELEW (BILLEAU) by the Dutch and confirmed Sept. 20, 1677 to Thomas STILLWELL by Gov. ANDROS, beginning on the west side of a run in the valley by the side of Iron Hill, bounded by land of Hans CRISTOPHEL on the southwest and by the highway on the northwest.
Thomas father, Lt. Nicholas' STILLWELL, came from an old English family; he migrated from County Surrey in England to Virginia before 1639, when he was made a tobacco viewer of a district on the Charles River. Having engaged in a land controversy between Virginia and Maryland, he fled northwards in 1645 and settled in Deutil Bay in New Amsterdam. In 1648 he bought a house, lot and farm in Gravesend on Long Island, where he lived and became a magistrate. In 1660 all were ordered to live within the village for greater safety from the Indians, but he obtained permission to remain on his bouwery between Gravesend and New Utrecht, as he had so many sons he could defend it. At the time
of the English conquest of ?, he upheld the Dutch; at odds with his English neighbors, he sold his plantation and removed to New Amsterdam, but by 1670 had settled at Old Dorp on Staten Island, where he was an important member of the community and died Dec. ?, 1671.
Capt. Thomas' STILLWELL, bap. July 9, 1651 at New Amsterdam d. 1704-05, married at Gravesend Jan. 8, 1670 Martha BILLEAU, bap. Feb. 8, 1652 at Leyden, daughter of Pierre BILLEAU and Francois DU BOIS. They settled on her father's land in the New Lots of the Old Town and probably built
the oldest part of the present house about 1680. Thomas STILLWELL was an important man on the Island, constable, sheriff, magistrate, captain of the militia, and member of the Colonial Assembly. As his only son had predeceased him, Thomas STILLWELL in 1704 bequeathed the property on which he lived to his daughters, Frances wife of Nicholas BRITTON, Ann (married first Samuel VAN PELT and secondly Jacobus BILLEAU, and Rachel (married William, son of William and Mary BRITTON). Thomas' widow Martha BILLEAU married secondly Rev. David de (DE) BONREPOS, minister to the French congregation on Staten Island; she died in 1735 at New Rochelle. In 1709 the widow Martha released the house in the New Lots to her daughters, reserving for herself "the room over the cellar in the little house before the great house" (indicating a different arrangement of buildings than at present). That same year Ann, one of the daughters, conveyed her portion to Nicholas BRITTON, reserving the "old
dwelling house" and garden, which eventually also became his; in 1713 Rachel, another daughter, sold her share to Nicholas BRITTON without any reservation.
Thus the son-in-law Nicholas BRITTON came into possession of Capt. Thomas STILLWELL's house. Col. Nicholas' BRITTON, b. 1679, d. 1740, was a son of William and Mary BRITTON, and a brother of Nathaniel BRITTON, builder of the house at New Dorp on Staten Island (plate 26). He married Frances' STILLWELL, b. 1682, and probably built the newer stone part of the house shortly after 1713. Nicholas and Frances had an only son Nathaniel, who married and had children but who died before his
parents, and also two daughters. Nicholas BRITTON willed the STILLWELL house to his two daughters, Martha, wife of Samuel MOORE, and Rachel (later wife of Thomas DONGAN). On Aug. 13, 1746, the widow Frances and her two daughters sold the property to Walter DONGAN, nephew of Sir Thomas DONGAN. He died in 1749, and his eldest son and heir, Thomas DONGAN (husband of Rachel BRITTON), sold the 60 acre tract on which the house stood to Joseph HOLMES, Innkeeper, on Nov. 12, 1749.
Presumably Joseph HOLMES continued his vocation and kept an inn here until he died Sept. 22, 1759 aged 63 years. His widow Sarah died Aug. 17, 1775, aged 75 years. Previously, in 1764, she had released her interest in the house in the New Lots to their only surviving child, Ann HOLMES wife of Edward PERINE. His great grandfather Daniel PERRIN emigrated in 1665 from the Isle of Jersey with Phillip CARTARET in 1666 he married Maria THORELL, and they settled on an 80 acre tract in southern Staten Island at the present Rossville. Edward PERINE, b. 1729, d. 1777, married Ann HOLMES in 1758 and had six children. He was a weaver. They made their home in her parents' stone house, where Ann
was still living as late as 1800. During the Revolution so many British soldiers were quartered here, that the widow and six children were allowed only one room. Capt. COGHLAN was among the British stationed here. Two of the children, Joseph and Henry PERINE, who were born, lived and died in this house, were each left an undivided half of the house and property. For over one hundred years, two families lived in the two sections of the house, operating as independent households. The older or rear portion was occupied by the younger son Henry PERINE, b. Nov. 29, 1768, d. Dec. 3, 1860, married 1795 Mary WINANT. Henry was a sheriff and supervisor of Southfield and a member of the New York
Legislature. He served in the War of 1812. His half of the house was inherited by his daughter Elizabeth PERINE, b. Jan. 19, 1804, d. Dec. 6, 1883, married May 19, 1830 Richard TYSEN of Northfield. In September 1870, some years before her death, she sold her interest to Charles B. WARING, who on Feb. 27, 1886 deeded it to Cornelius L. PERINE, occupant of the other half. The front portion of the house was inherited by Edward and Ann (HOLMES) PERINE's elder son Joseph PERINE, b. 1759, d. April 16, 1814, married Sept. 25, 1782 Catharine SWAINE. He was a clerk of the Court of Common Pleas, delegate to the Constitutional Convention of 1801, and Lt. Colonel of the militia. His portion of the house was
inherited by his son Simon Swaime PERINE, b. Nov. 10, 1783, d. Feb 20, 1860, married 1810 Sarah Ann LAKE. The front half of the house passed to Simon's son Cornelius Lake PERINE, b. May 2, 1821, d. March 19, 1896, married Eliza BRITTON. It was he who bought the rear half of the house. The house was inherited by his son Hamilton Britton PERINE, b. Aug. 14, 1854, who sold it Feb. 13, 1913 to Donald C. CRAIG. It was bought Feb. 15, 1915 by the Staten Island Antiquarian Society, now the Staten Island Institute of Arts and Sciences.
As suggested by its history, the house really consists of two connecting buildings. The rear stone house (partly shown at the right of the photograph) is believed to be the dwelling erected by Capt.
Thomas STILLWELL about 1680. One tradition state that the original house burned, but this may refer to the old dwelling mentioned in the releases of 1709. The stone house nearer the road is later but also
belongs to an early period, and was probably erected by STILLWELL's son-in-law Nathaniel BRITTON about 1713. These units are built of undressed fieldstone; the small windows are of the early period. The huge beams are still to be seen overhead in the main room of the rear house. Attached to it (just off the photograph) is the old frame kitchen, believed to have been built about 1749 by Joseph HOLMES. It
has a large fireplace and plastered walls. The front stone house lies several steps higher; here in the parlor is some fine Jacobean paneling. The front door opens directly into the dining room, and off
this (partially seen in the photograph) is a frame addition, similar in lines to the stone house but smaller, which is said to have been built as early as 1758, and was used as another kitchen. The dormers are
modern. Various views of the house can be seen in "The Story and Documentary History of the PERINE House" by C. E. HINE, and elsewhere. The house stands on a turn in the old Richmond Road, on its east side north of Cromwell street. A stream on the east side of the house was a branch of the stream (now dried up) which was mentioned in the various deeds as the boundary on the west

More More About PIERRE BILLIOU/BILYEU:
Fact 1: May 09, 1661, Left Holland for New York
Fact 2: August 06, 1661, arrived in United States aboard ship St. Jan Baptist
Fact 3: Pierre laid out the first Staten Island town
Fact 4: 1625, baptized in La Basse or Wicre, in French Flanders (now Belgim)